you're reading...
Promises

Strength #5 — Contented Strength

The Lord said, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is brought to completion in your weakness.” … Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9–10

Contentment is a requirement for experiencing the power of God’s grace, because contentment is faith as a settled and thoughtful happiness. Contentment begins as we recognize our finitude, grows as we realize God’s beatitude, and matures as we rehearse our gratitude. Contentment evolves when God’s unique design for our lives so pleases us, that we eagerly invite him to augment our limitations. When we are content, we live happily within the framework of God’s wisdom and power. In this way our efforts to extend his goodness into the world in the name of Christ will be successful. However, we must not be complacent in our contentment, nor content with our weaknesses for their own sake, but for the sake of someone infinitely strong and worthy, for Christ. As we humbly allow him to supplement our weakness with his strengthening grace, so that attention focuses on Jesus rather than ourselves, any obstacles to success as followers of Jesus shrink to insignificance. The Lord is pleased to empower people who are pleased with his power.

O Lord God, I am satisfied with all that you are for me in Jesus. I want to see you do more through me for his sake. Grant me pleasure in everything that makes this possible. Amen.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Everytrail Guides

I’m on EveryTrail: Map Your Trips, Find local hikes
dougknighton
30 guides
see my profile
Popular guides by dougknighton
Check out EveryTrail mobile travel guides
